Hello! & 5 Healthy Foods You Should Be Eating

7 Feb

Hey there! Me here, toughing out this New York winter. Good thing I have an obsession with coats, see here:

instacoat

I’ve had a lot of time to experiment with different foods and find out which works with me. I’m pretty set in my ways once I find food that serve me well, are healthy, give me energy and support my weight desires. Here are a few foods that are staples in my diet and why!

  1. Grapefruit. An acquired taste, perhaps. I first got myself to start eating it by sprinkling it with brown sugar, but I now love it in it’s pure form. One of my favorite things about it is it’s low number on the glycemic index, meaning it’s fruit that won’t raise your blood sugar and lead you to more sugar cravings. It’s loaded with Vitamin C & A, protecting you from sickness and harmful free radicals. And it’s in season! Nature’s beautiful way of protecting us from winter flu & colds.
  2. Chia Seeds. Oh you chia you. Surely you’ve heard the wonders of these small seeds. Seriously, eat em. They’re chock full of fiber without eating any grains, plus they give you your essential fatty acid Omega-3, which protects against inflammation such as arthritis and heart disease. Put them in your oatmeal and watch your portion size double, because they absorb and bulk up, allowing you to eat seemingly more without more calories. These suckers even expand in your stomach and fill you up for a good while.
  3. Cabbage. Weird? Maybe. I like cabbage. I make big ol’ salads out of it and also have been putting it into my vegetable soups. It’s filling, low calorie, no starch, slightly sweet and crunchy. The high water content serves to be filling, and it’s an alkaline food, meaning it’s brings your body’s acidity level down (which provides a plethora of benefits). This is yet another food filled with Vitamin C, and also Vitamin K which supports bone health. Dress it up with ginger, lemon juice and apple cider vinegar and you’ll be doing your body a big favor!
  4. Apples. Oh how could you go a day without an apple? There’s an apple out there for every kind of taste preference; sweet, sour, bitter. I have a big sweet tooth, but just because green apples are lower in sugar and calories I opt for them, but of course dress them up with spices and flavors like in this dish: Cran-Apple Crisp Lookalike. They can actually help detoxify your liver, which is under constant stress from the toxins we consume and are exposed to (mostly unwillingly, I’ll assume). And lastly I’ll mention the fiber count it touts, because you know, it keeps ya flowin and it keeps ya colon happy.
  5. Turmeric. Okay, not a food, whatever. It comes from India and is part of the ginger family. I’ve recently discovered the wonderful health benefits of this tasty spice and I’ve been adding it to nearly everything! Tofu scrambles, vegetable curries and soups. Adding it alone has seriously upped my cooking skills. It benefits every system in the body, is a powerful anti-oxidant, super anti-inflammatory, even been known to block cancer! How could you not use it? You can even take it in capsule form which would maximize it’s benefits (even highly recommended for Arthritis sufferers).

It was really hard to pick 5 healthy foods when I eat so many healthy foods everyday! I’ll definitely have to continue this list later 🙂 Hope you enjoyed and please let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

