No-Bake Lemon Fig Balls

18 Aug

Mmmm the sweet taste of something good for you….

Sweet, light and tart, it’s the perfect summer treat. I take these with me to go and pop them when I feel some hunger pangs, and boy are they are so filling yet energizing. Plus they are a MUCH better alternative to a fig newton. It has good for you fats (EFA’s),

Ingredients (about 8 servings):

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/8 cup flax (or chia if preferred)
  • 1/8 cup pumpkin seeds (or sunflower)
  • 1/3 cup almonds
  • 1-2 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 8 large figs
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp water
  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a food processor and pulse until well mixed. Add everything else and blend until still slightly chunky.
  2. Roll small balls and place on a plate. If they’re too watery add more almonds or oats and pulse in. Place the plate of balls in the refrigerator for a few hours.
  3. Try to eat just one πŸ˜‰

3 Responses to “No-Bake Lemon Fig Balls”

  1. Playful and Hungry August 19, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    Yummy, those look good!

  2. Aniane September 4, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Maybe the measurements are a bit off. I added a lot more almonds and oats and they were still not very “rollable”. The flavor was great. I added a bit of honey to make them slightly sweeter. I hope they firm up a bit in the refrigerator.

    • the model house cat September 25, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Sorry I have been MIA from my blog and replying, I’ve been away for awhile. The balls were a little soft and sticky when I first rolled them, but definitely firmed in the fridge. How did they turn out? Mm I wanna make some now πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

