Wake Up Special

30 Apr


My boyfriend and I took over our friend’s apartment when she moved to Australia. Despite it already being gorgeously decorated, one of my favorite things in the apartment is the juicer! I’ve been juicing almost on the daily, which is a pain in the butt to clean up after, but so worth it! There’s nothing more refreshing than fresh juice in the morning, it leaves your body feeling cleaned and mind energized. I don’t like to follow recipes because they all call for 2 or three ingredients, and I like to pack it full of variety like a multi-vitamin! So I’ve experimented a lot these last few weeks and here is one my boyfriend loves. Of course a juicer is necessary for this recipe.

       What you need:

  • an orange
  • a carrot
  • celery stalk
  • half grapefruit
  • handful cantaloupe
  • 1 kiwi
  • 4″ cucumber
  • 1/4″ ginger root
  • 1/2 tsp Stevia
  • ice cubes

Make sure to wash the vegetables and peel the fruits before juicing. Add the Stevia and ice cubes, stir it up and viola! I love this one because the citrus fruits are refreshing and quenching, and the ginger adds a little spicy kick. Most of the ingredients have a high water content so it’s very hydrating, plus veggie vitamins to boot. It’s a winner.

One Response to “Wake Up Special”

  1. Erica Leduc May 1, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    Fresh juicer juice in the morning is the best! I’ve never done kiwi in the juicer and am going to have to try it!
    Happy juicing!

Leave a Reply

